Mu Alpha Theta Inducts New Members

Congratulations to our newest members of Mu Alpha Theta — the national high school mathematics honor society — who were inducted into the Hillcrest chapter yesterday during chapel. According to its website, the purpose of Mu Alpha Theta is to inspire “a keen interest in mathematics, developing strong scholarship in the subject, and promoting the enjoyment of mathematics…. Mu Alpha Theta provides a method for schools to recognize and encourage students who enjoy and excel in mathematics.”

Front Row, L to R: Trinity Powell, Kaylyn Turner, Alex Howell, Katelynn Phillips, Sarah Grace Brownlee, and Beth Hammill; Middle Row, L to R: Jabari Johnson, Skyler Williamson, Lexi Leger, Ashley Myers, and Jessica Bewley; Back Row, L to R: James Adams, Abigail Browning, Addie Cothern, Sam Brownlee, and Aliza Williams

In order to become a member, 9th through 12th-grade students must meet the following minimum requirements: They must have completed two years of college preparatory mathematics, including algebra and/or geometry, and have completed or are enrolled in a third year of college preparatory math. They also must have at least a 3.0 math grade point average. Congratulations to these students for their hard work!

2018-2019 Officers: Katelynn Phillips, Alex Howell, Kaylyn Turner, and Sarah Grace Brownlee